How To Enable Gaming Mode on Android 12

Back in Februry, folks at XDA had spotted an unreleased Gaming Dashboard in the works for Android 12. But up until now, there were no clear...

Tuesday

How to Reset Network Settings on iOS 15 and What Does it Do?

Posted by   on

iOS has been at the forefront of mobile Operating Systems since Apple launched it with the release of the first iPhone back in 2007. Since then the OS has seen numerous improvements and feature added to its roster of features. A recent addition to iOS has been the ability to selectively reset various aspects of the OS.


This now allows you to reset your settings, network, content, and more separately if you are facing any issues. Resetting each of these preferences individually allows you to narrow down the solution to fix your issue without having to reset the entire device. Have you been facing issues with your network? Then you might want to look into resetting your network settings on iOS 15. Here’s all you need to know about. 


Why reset your network settings?


Resetting your network can solve numerous connectivity issues with your device. If you are unable to connect to a known network, if your DHCP addresses aren’t set properly, if you are unable to use a custom VPN or proxy, then all these issues can be solved by resetting your network.


Resetting your network settings can also help solve connectivity errors for certain apps, restart essential background services, and more importantly allow you to connect to networks that you are unable to. Resetting your network settings can also help solve network issues with your SIM card. You can also solve APN issues and data connectivity issues by testing your network settings in iOS 15. 


What happens when you Reset Network Settings?


Reset Network settings, as the name suggests, will reset all your network settings to their factory values. Any chipset or Wi-Fi updates will also be reverted to their original versions. Your phone will forget all the current network configurations including custom VPNs, proxies, custom servers, APN settings, Wi-Fi passwords, and more.


A reset hence, will give you a fresh start on your device and help solve existing network issues on your device. 


Things to backup before resetting your network


As stated above, your device will end up forgetting a lot of things when resetting your network. Hence it is recommended that you back up the following in case you do not have your credentials stored in a safe place.


Additionally, if you do not remember passwords or configurations for certain networks then we recommend you hold out on resetting your network until you have the necessary data at hand. This will help you connect and configure your device at the earliest after a reset without having to wait and search for the proper credentials and information. 



  • Backup your Wi-Fi passwords

  • Backup your custom VPN settings (if any)

  • Backup your custom server settings (if any)

  • Backup your proxy settings (if any)

  • Backup any custom changes made to your APN

  • If your network provider or organization needs additional networks to be set up on your device, then back them up as well. 


Once you have backed up the necessary data, you can use the guide below to reset your network on iOS 15. 


How to reset network settings on iOS 15


Open the Settings app and tap on ‘General’. 



Scroll down and tap on ‘Transfer or Reset iPhone’. 



Tap on ‘Reset’. 



Select ‘Reset Network Settings’. 



Enter your password to reset your network settings and confirm your identity. Your network settings will now be reset and depending on your setup your device may require a reboot to finish the process. Once your device reboots, you can set up all the necessary networks on your device again. 


Will you need to manually enter your Sim details again?


No, ideally you won’t need to enter your SIM details manually again. Apple has a huge database of carrier settings for most providers worldwide. Once the SIM is detected, iOS 15 will automatically configure itself depending on the features available to you and the plan that you are subscribed to.


In some cases, you may receive a text message from your network provider that outlines additional steps to ensure proper connectivity for your SIM card. We recommend you perform these steps at the earliest to get the maximum performance out of your network. Some providers may also forward you custom APN settings which will help your device operate at higher bandwidths. 


FAQs


Here are some commonly asked questions that come to mind when resetting your network settings in iOS 15. We hope they help clarify some things for you. 


Reset Networks Settings on iPhone 13, iPhone 12, or any other iPhone


The guide above applies to almost every iPhone that is iOS 15 (even older) if you want to reset networks settings.


Is it bad to reset your network settings?


No, Resetting your network settings is not bad for your device’s health. It helps clear caches, and reset all your network settings which allow you to start afresh. This can help you solve network issues on your device and connect to networks that no longer appear in the list or simply won’t allow you to connect.


However, as resetting your network settings will delete all saved Wi-Fi passwords, network configurations, and more, it is recommended that you make the necessary backups. If your device is managed by your organization, then we recommend you acquire the necessary configuration settings from your admin before resetting your network. 


What do you lose when resetting your network?


You will lose the following when resetting your network on an iOS 15 device. 



  • Saved Wi-Fi passwords

  • Custom VPN and default VPN settings

  • Custom APN and default APN settings

  • Custom server settings

  • Proxy settings

  • Any other custom changes made to your network connectivity. 


Do you lose your jailbreak?


No, resetting your network usually does not affect a jailbreak. However, each jailbreak uses a different exploit and can be tethered, semi-tethered, or untethered.


Depending on your iOS version and the JB you are using, you might end up losing your jailbreak, especially if you have a semi-tethered one. Thankfully, developers usually have a way to work around such caveats and you will find more information for the same on your Jailbreak’s Wiki page. 


Can you reset network settings without losing your Wi-Fi passwords?


Sadly no, resetting your network will delete all saved and known Wi-Fi networks as well as their passwords. We recommend you make a complete backup of all your known networks before proceeding with a network reset on your device. 


We hope this post helped shed some light on resetting your network settings on iOS. If you face any issues or have any more questions for us, feel free to reach out using the comments section below. 




Related:

No comments:
Write Comments

Hello Friends, welcome to autobloginc.blogspot.com we Hope You'll like it - COntact US
!!THANK YOU FOR YOUR SUPPORT!!