How To Enable Gaming Mode on Android 12

Back in Februry, folks at XDA had spotted an unreleased Gaming Dashboard in the works for Android 12. But up until now, there were no clear...

Sunday

How to Delete a Channel in Slack

Posted by   on


Device Links



Over time, your Slack Workspace inevitably gets crowded with redundant channels dedicated to completed projects. With Slack, the workflow is more efficient when your Workspace is in order.


How to Delete a Channel in Slack


With that in mind, you may be wondering how to delete channels you don’t need. However, to do this, you must be the Workspace Owner or Admin.


In this guide, we’ll share instructions on deleting a Slack channel. We’ll also explain how to leave or archive a channel you don’t want to delete permanently. Lastly, we’ll explain how to perform data backup before you delete a channel.


How to Delete a Channel in Slack from a PC


Before you delete a Slack channel, keep in mind this is permanent and irreversible. You must also be the Workspace Owner or Admin to do this. Follow the steps below to delete an active channel:



  1. Launch Slack’s desktop version and sign into your Workspace.

  2. Select the channel you wish to delete from the left sidebar.

  3. Click the channel name located at the top of the conversation.

  4. Click the “Settings”, then select “Delete Channel.”

  5. Confirm by clicking “Delete this channel.”

  6. Confirm once again by clicking “Yes, permanently delete the channel” and “Delete Channel” one last time.


Alternatively, follow the instructions below to delete an archived channel:



  1. Launch Slack in your browser and sign into your Workspace.

  2. Click the hash and magnifying glass icon at the top of the left sidebar. You may have to click the three-dot icon in the sidebar first to find the icon.

  3. Find the archived channel you wish to delete. Optionally, use a filter: click the filter icon, then “Archived channels” from the drop-down menu.

  4. Click the channel name located at the top of the conversation.

  5. Select “Settings,” then click “Delete this channel.”

  6. Confirm by clicking “Yes, permanently delete the channel,” then “Delete channel.”


How to Delete a Channel in Slack from the iPhone App


There’s no way to delete a Slack channel permanently via the mobile app. However, you can leave a channel or archive it. Bear in mind that you should be the Workspace Owner or Admin to archive a channel. Follow the steps below to leave a Slack channel on an iPhone:



  1. Launch the Slack app and log in to your workspace.

  2. Scroll down the channel list and tap the channel you wish to leave.

  3. Tap the information icon located at the upper right corner of your screen.

  4. Select “Leave” from the menu.


Alternatively, archive a channel by following the steps below:



  1. Launch the Slack app and log in to your Workspace.

  2. Select a channel from your channel list. Then, tap the channel name at the top of the conversation.

  3. Tap “Additional Options” at the bottom of the channel settings page.

  4. Select “Archive this Channel.”


How to Delete a Channel in Slack from the Android App


Just like the iPhone app, the Slack Android app doesn’t let users delete a channel permanently. However, you can leave it by following the steps below:



  1. Launch the Slack app and log in to your workspace.

  2. Scroll down the list and select the channel you wish to leave.

  3. In the upper right corner of your screen, tap the information icon.

  4. Select “Leave” from the menu.


If you’re the Workspace Owner or Admin, archive a channel by following the instructions below:



  1. Launch the Slack app and log in to your Workspace.

  2. From the channel list, choose the channel you wish to archive.

  3. Tap the downward arrow next to the channel name at the top.

  4. Scroll down to the very bottom of your screen and select “Archive.”


How to Delete the General Channel


The General channel in Slack is different from others. It’s a place where every member joining the Workspace is added automatically. Unlike other channels, no one can leave the General channel. That’s important to ensure that no one misses announcements. The only way to delete the General channel in Slack is to permanently delete the Workspace. Naturally, to do so, you must be the Workspace Owner. Follow the steps below:



  1. Visit Slack from your browser and log in to your Workspace.

  2. Click your Workspace name located at the upper left corner of your screen.

  3. From the drop-down menu, select “Settings and Administration.”

  4. Click “Workspace Settings.”

  5. Scroll down and select “Delete Workspace,” then confirm by clicking “Delete Workspace” again.

  6. Type in your Slack password and once again confirm by clicking “Yes, delete my workspace.”


Note: Before deleting your Workspace, consider exporting your data first. The action is irreversible.


FAQs


In this section, we’ll answer more questions related to deleting a channel in Slack.


What’s the Difference Between Leaving, Archiving, and Deleting a Slack Channel?


You can’t delete a channel from Slack’s mobile app, only archive or leave it. So, what’s the difference? When you leave a channel, you lose access to it, but this action doesn’t affect other members. They won’t be able to contact you in the channel but will still be able to do everything else.


When you archive a channel, all members lose access to it, and the channel name disappears from the channel list. But the conversation data is stored in the Archived Channels section and can be accessed by admins when needed.


Lastly, when you delete a channel, you and other members permanently and irreversibly lose access to all its data.


How Do I Back Up My Slack Workspace Data Before Channel Deletion?


Since you won’t be able to access your data after deleting a channel, it’s worth doing a backup first. Follow the steps below if you have a Free or Pro plan:


1. Launch Slack in the browser and click on your Workspace name at the upper left corner of your screen. This can’t be done in the mobile app.


2. From the drop-down menu, select “Settings and Administration,” then “Workspace Settings.”


3. Click “Import/Export Data,” located in the upper right corner.


4. Navigate to the “Export” tab.


5. Expand the drop-down menu under the “Export data range” section.


6. Click “Start Export.”


7. You’ll receive an email once the export is completed. Click “Visit your workspace’s export page.”


8. Click “Ready for download” to download the backup zip file.


With the Free and Pro plans, you can only download data from public channels. But if you have a Business+ plan, you can also access private channel and DM data. Here’s how to do that:


1. Launch Slack in the browser and click on your Workspace name at the upper left corner of your screen. This can’t be done in the mobile app.


2. From the drop-down menu, select “Settings and Administration,” then “Workspace Settings.”


3. Click “Import/Export Data,” located in the upper right corner.


4. Navigate to the “Export” tab.


5. Expand the drop-down menu under the “Export data range” section.


6. Click “Start Export.”


7. You’ll receive an email once the export is completed. Click “Visit your workspace’s export page.”


8. Click “Ready for download” to download the backup zip file.


Think Carefully Before You Delete


Deleting a channel in Slack is a serious decision as the data will be removed permanently. Thankfully, doing so accidentally is difficult as you must confirm the action multiple times. Hopefully, our guide has taught you how to delete redundant channels or find a better alternative option, such as archiving.


Do you wish you could delete Slack channels from the mobile app? Why? Share your thoughts in the comments section below.

No comments:
Write Comments

Hello Friends, welcome to autobloginc.blogspot.com we Hope You'll like it - COntact US
!!THANK YOU FOR YOUR SUPPORT!!